Decision details

To elect the Deputy Mayor for the period to May 2023 in accordance with Section 24(1) of the Local Government Act 1972

Decision Maker: Council

Decision status: Recommendations Approved

Is Key decision?: No

Is subject to call in?: No


There were two nominations received, both moved and seconded, for Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year, namely Councillors W Kendall and T Thomas.


A vote was therefore conducted, the result of which was as follows:-


Councillor Kendall


Councillors H Bennett, JP Blundell, E Caparros, R Collins, HJ David, Colin Davies, P Davies, M Evans, N Farr, P Ford, J Gebbie, R Goode, RM Granville, H Griffiths, S Griffiths, M Hughes, M Jones, M Kearn, W Kendall, M Lewis, J Llewellyn-Hopkins, JC Spanswick, JH Tildesley, G Walter, H Williams, R Williams, E Winstanley = 27 votes


Councillor Thomas


Councillors S Aspey, A Berrow, F Bletsoe, S Bletsoe, Chris Davies, D Harrison, D Hughes, RM James, P Jenkins, M John, J Pratt, E Richards, R Smith, I Spiller, R Penhale-Thomas, T Thomas, A Wathan, Alex Williams, Amanda Williams, I Williams, M Williams, T Wood = 22 votes


RESOLVED:                            That Councillor W Kendall be elected as Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year, to May 2023.


Publication date: 14/06/2022

Date of decision: 18/05/2022

Decided at meeting: 18/05/2022 - Council